Spacewalk, Repos and generic insanity.

So I’ve been building a spacewalk server. While the documentation is quite good, some of it can be lacking in specifics.
What I mean is, while you can combine repos into one channel weird things start happening. For example I wanted to make one channel for all my Centos boxes to use for all official Centos packages/updates.

If you do this, you get a weird channel with all the old and new packages sitting side-by-side and refusing to update each other.

Also there are two Spacewalk repos. One with the Server and it’s variousĀ dependencies. The other contains utilities you will need after installing the Server. (rhn-client and the like)

Anyway I hope this helps somebody, it caused me to yell at my screen for a bit today.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

